Results of the first Iryna Steshenko Drama Translation Competition are announced

Iryna Steshenko Drama Translation Competition
28 December 2022

Alina Zatsepina from Mykolaiv becomes the winner of the first Iryna Steshenko Drama Translation Competition

Shortly before the New Year, Ukrainian Drama Network announced the results of the first Iryna Steshenko Drama Translation Competition. The translators worked on an excerpt from Ivan Franko’s play “Stolen Happiness”.

The organizers expressed their sincere gratitude to all translators who found the opportunity and inspiration to work in such difficult conditions, as well as to the jury members who carefully read and anonymously evaluated all translations. It is encouraging that despite all the challenges to overcome in the days of a terrible, unjust war, translators are ready to work for the sake of popularizing Ukrainian culture in the world.

The winner of the competition is Alina Zatsepina (Mykolaiv), a Master's student at the Black Sea National University named after Peter Mohyla. The jury praised Alina Zatsepina's translation for the adequacy of reproduction of the original content, extraordinary decisions in the translation of Ukrainian realias, and stylistic sophistication. As a winner of the Competition, Alina will continue working on the translation of the play which will be finalized to be presented to the international audience.

The competition was launched and held within the framework of the Ukrainian Drama Network project, initiated by Theater Na Zhukah and financed by the Culture and Education Stabilization Fund of the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Germany (Auswärtiges Amt) and the Goethe-Institut. The organizers of the Competition were Hryhoriy Kochur Department of Translation Studies and Contrastive Linguistics, the Center for English-speaking academic and cross-cultural communication of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv and Theater Translation Lab. The Ukrainian Drama Network involves a wide range of partners, including the Ukrainian Institute, UkrDramaHub platform, the Theater of Playwrights, the National Union of Theater Artists, and Theater Platform.